2021 Director Election Voting Underway

last updated on Tuesday, September 21, 2021 in Community News

Voting is now open in the Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines 2021 Director Election. Electronic ballots were distributed to all eligible voting members on September 21, 2021. Members in the states of Alaska and Utah will each fill one member director seat. One independent director seat will be filled through a district-wide election. Ballots must be received by October 29, 2021 at 5 PM CDT.

Votes can be cast at: https://www.directvote.net/fhlbdm/login.aspx

The states of Hawaii and the US territory of Guam, Missouri and South Dakota also each had one member director seat to fill in the 2021 election. Russell J. Lau, Chairman/CEO of Finance Factors, Limited in Honolulu, HI, John A. Klebba, President of Legends Bank in Linn, MO and Steven L. Bumann, Chief Financial Officer of BankWest, Inc., in Pierre, SD were the only eligible candidates who chose to stand for election in their respective states. Therefore, Messrs. Lau, Klebba and Bumann were each declared elected to the Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines board in accordance with Federal Housing Finance Agency regulations. Mr. Lau previously served three terms as an FHLB director, with his most recent term expiring in 2017. Messrs. Klebba and Bumann will begin serving their second and third terms, respectively. New terms for FHLB directors will begin on January 1, 2022.

If you are an FHLB Des Moines member and your institution did not receive an electronic ballot, please contact Kerrie Dewey at 800.544-3452 ext. 2182 or by email at kdewey@fhlbdm.com.

  1. Board of Directors