2019 Director Elections

posted on Thursday, June 27, 2019 in Community News

Commencement of the annual Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines director election is underway. Members in the states of Iowa, Minnesota and Montana will elect an individual to fill one member director seat in its respective state. Four independent director seats, including one public interest independent director (PID) seat, will be filled through a district wide election.

The nomination and election process for member and independent directors will be conducted electronically through Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS), an outside vendor experienced in administering online elections in a secure environment. On June 27, SBS emailed the Bank’s official announcement of election to eligible voting members in all states. Members in the states of Iowa, Minnesota and Montana will receive an online member director nomination certificate, and eligible voting members in all states in the Bank’s district will receive information regarding independent director application forms. Member director nomination certificates and independent director application forms must be received by August 1, 2019.

Individuals interested in being considered for an independent director position must submit an Independent Director Application Form to the Bank by the nomination deadline of August 1, 2019 5:00 PM Central Time. The current application form prescribed by the FHFA can be found on its website at www.fhfa.gov. The form may also be accessed directly by clicking on the PDF document below.

Click here to print an Independent Director Application Form.

Independent Director Application Forms must be completed by the individual interested in being considered for an independent director seat and submitted to:

Dara Queck

Senior Vice President, Member & Financial Operations Officer

Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines

909 Locust St. 

Des Moines, IA 50309

To view a schedule of key events in the 2019 director election timeline, please click here.  To read general information about the Bank and its board of directors, click here. If you did not receive a communication from SBS announcing the 2019 Election, please contact Kerrie Dewey at 800.544.3452, ext. 2182 or by email at kdewey@fhlbdm.com